ABC 33/40 website wins 2013 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award

WBMA's website won a 2013 Region 9 Edward R. Murrow Award in the large television market division, the Radio Television Digital News Association announced Thursday.

WASHINGTON - The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the winners of the 2013 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

"For more than 40 years, the Edward R. Murrow Award has honored the best of electronic journalism," said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "This year's winners represent the outstanding work being done in local newsrooms, which we are proud to recognize."

A record number of award entries were submitted, and judges selected winners in 13 regions across the United States and from international entrants across the globe. The regional winners are automatically entered in the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged during the summer. National awards will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on Columbus Day.

ABC 33/40 won a Region 9 Edward R. Murrow Award for its website,, in the large market television division. The award was a first for the online news site in Birmingham, Ala., which is spearheaded by Jeff Wyatt, the station's Director of Internet Services.

WBMA's region consists of local news stations from Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi.

"This is definitely a station award. Everyone is involved and the work is paying off." Wyatt said.

A complete list of the 2013 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found at


RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.