Alabama, Auburn, UAB, JSU represented on college football watch lists

Alabama receiver Christion Jones. (

Alabama, Auburn and UAB will carry star power into the 2014 season.The top college football awards will release their preseason watch-lists this week and many of the names will be familiar to fans.Alabama defensive back and return man Christion Jones and UAB receiver and return man J.J. Nelson are on the Paul Hornung Award watch list, presented to the most versatile player in major college football. quarterback Jacob Coker, running backs Derrick Henry and T.J. Yeldon, and receiver Amari Cooper are on the watch list for the Maxwell Award.Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall and receiver Sammie Coates are also on the Maxwell Award watch list, in addition to former Hueytown quarterback Jameis Winston (Florida State) and former Homewood running back Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska)The Maxwell Award will be awarded to the top college football player of the year. defensive back Robenson Therezie is on the Bednarik Award watch list. Alabama defensive back Landon Collins, linebacker Trey DePriest and defensive lineman A'Shawn Robinson are also on the watch list for the Bednarik Award, given to the nation's top defensive player.


Jacksonville State running back DaMarcus James is on the watch list for the Walter Payton Award, which goes to the most outstanding player at the FCS level.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off