Alabama, Auburn, UAB represented on Mackey Award watch list

Alabama tight end O.J. Howard. (

The John Mackey Award watch list has a lot of Alabama flavor.

Alabama's O.J. Howard, Auburn's C.J. Uzomah and UAB's Kennard Backman are on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, which goes to the nation's top tight end. There are 40 players listed on the Mackey watch list.

South Alabama tight end Wes Saxton is on the watch list as well. The former Hueytown star was a first team all-Sunbelt Conference selection last season.

Uzomah and Backman were full time starters for their teams last season, and Howard started three of Alabama's final four games.

The John Mackey Award list will be trimmed throughout the season. The award's midseason watch list will be released Oct. 13, the Mackey Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 17 and three Mackey Finalists will be unveiled one week later (Nov. 24).

The John Mackey Award will be presented on Dec. 11, 2014 at the Home Depot College Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off