Alabama's AJ McCarron awarded CFPA Quarterback Trophy

      Alabama junior AJ McCarron earned the College Football Performance Awards Quarterback Trophy for 2012. (

      CHARLOTTE, N.C -- Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron earned the 2012 CFPA Quarterback Trophy, announced Tuesday by College Football Performance Awards.

      McCarron, who led Alabama to back-to-back National Championships, set the school record for passing touchdowns in a season (30) and in a career (49). As Alabama's starting quarterback over the past two seasons, McCarron has compiled a 25-2 record with 46 touchdowns and just eight interceptions. During the 2011 and 2012 seasons, he completed the SEC's second-longest streak of 291 pass attempts without an interception.

      In 14 games during the 2012 season, McCarron threw for 2,933 passing yards, including 30 touchdowns with only three interceptions. McCarron averaged 9.3 yards per attempt and also added one touchdown on the ground. In the 2013 Discover BCS National Championship Game, he completed 20-of-28 passes for 264 yards and four touchdowns.

      McCarron was a second-team All-SEC selection and an Associated Press third-team All-American. McCarron is the fourth Alabama player to earn CFPA honors, following previous winners: Trent Richardson, Mark Barron, and Javier Arenas.


      2012 CFPA Trophy Winners

      National Performer of the Year:{} Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

      Running Back Trophy:{} Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona

      Wide Receiver Trophy:{} Marqise Lee, Southern Cal

      Tight End Trophy:{} Travis Kelce, Cincinnati

      Defensive Performer of the Year:{} Kyle Van Noy, BYU

      Defensive Lineman Trophy:{} Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

      Linebacker Trophy:{} Kyla Van Hoy, BYU

      Defensive Back Trophy:{} Phillip Thomas, Fresno State

      Punter Trophy:{} Kyle Christy, Florida

      Placekicker Trophy:{} Cairo Santos, Tulane

      Specialist Trophy:{} Brandon McManus, Temple

      Kickoff Returner Trophy:{} Reggie Dunn, Utah

      Punt Returner Trophy:{} Giovani Bernard

      Freshman Performer of the Year:{} Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

      All-Purpose Performer of the Year:{} Tavon Austin, West Virginia

      Elite Quarterback Trophy:{} Geno Smith, West Virginia

      Elite Running Back Trophy:{} Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State

      Elite Defensive Lineman Trophy:{} Alex Okafor, Texas

      Elite Specialist Trophy:{} Dustin Hopkins, Florida State