Alabama's Dee Milliner one of five finalists for Bronco Nagurski Award

Dee Milliner returns an interception thrown by Michigan's Denard Robinson on September 1, 2012 in Dallas. (

Alabama junior defensive back Dee Milliner is one of five finalists vying for the Bronco Nagurski Award given to college football's Top Defensive Player of the Year, the Football Writer's Association of America announced.

Milliner, one of the top players on defense for the 9-1 Crimson Tide, has 44 tackles (27 unassisted). He has four tackles for loss (for minus-19 yards), 1.5 of those are sacks (for minus-11 yards). He has two pass interceptions with 35 yards in returns. Adding to those totals are 14 passes broken up, 16 deflections, one forced fumble and one blocked kick.

Milliner is the fifth Alabama finalist for the Nagurski Trophy (Antonio Langham, 1993; DeMeco Ryans, 2005; Terrence Cody, 2009; Mark Barron, 2011).

Also in contention for the award is South Carolina sophomore end Jadeveon Clowney, Georgia junior linebacker Jarvis Jones, Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te'o and Florida State junior end Bjoern Werner.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 3 and presented the Bronko Nagurski Trophy at a gala banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C., where Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly will give the keynote address. The event will be televised by NFL Network.

Luke Kuechly won the award in 2011 as a standout linebacker for Boston College.