Athletic directors to be part of football playoff committee

Current athletic directors will reportedly be part of the selection committee that hands out bids to the College Football Playoff.

Sources told ESPN that the "working concept" is to have an athletic director from the SEC, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12 and Pac 12 conferences on the selection committee.

Former coaches, athletic directors and administrators will also be on the committee, which is expected to consist of 12 to 20 members.

College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock says there have been 100 individuals nominated for the initial committee.

The College Football Playoff will begin after the 2014 regular season. The selection committee will select four teams and create the match-ups for the playoff semifinals.

The first semifinals will be at the Rose and Sugar Bowls on January 1, 2015.

The first College Football Playoff championship will be January 12, 2015 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.