Auburn commit Jeremy Johnson named 2012 Mr. Football in Alabama

Carver-Montgomery's Jeremy Johnson was named 2012 Mr. Football for the state of Alabama on Wednesday. Johnson is a four-star Auburn commitment. (

MONTGOMERY, Ala. -- Carver-Montgomery High School quarterback Jeremy Johnson was named Mr. Football for the state of Alabama in 2012 on Wednesday at the annual Alabama Sports Writer's Association Player of the Year Banquet.

Johnson, a four-star recruit committed to Auburn University, won the award over Fultondale's ArDarius Stewart by just two total points. Johnson finished with 170 points and nine first-place votes while Stewart collected 168 points and five first-place votes.

Votes came from a panel of high school sports writers from around the state.

Johnson finished his senior season with 3,193 yards passing with 31 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He helped lead his team to a 13-2 final record which included a run to the semi-finals of the Class 6A state playoffs. Along with the Mr. Football Award, Johnson was also named the 6A Back of the Year for 2012.

Stewart, a four-star all-purpose athlete committed to Alabama, didn't walk away empty-handed in Montgomery as he was named the Class 2A Back of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Mr. Football Voting ResultsNamePos.High SchoolPts.1st{} Jeremy JohnsonQBCarver-Mont.1709ArDarius StewartATHFultondale1685Kerryon JohnsonRBMadison Academy1120Reuben FosterLBAuburn High1020Jordan ChunnRBMadison Co.971 Back/Lineman of the Year Award Winners

The ASWA selects three finalists for backs and linemen in each of the six classes in the AHSAA as well as all teams in the Alabama Independent Schools Association.

Class 1A

Back - Rodney Camp, Phillips

Lineman - Damien Davenport, McIntosh

Class 2A

Back- ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale

Lineman - Fred Rich, Tanner

Class 3A

Back - Courtney Foy, Midfield

Lineman - Torrandine Harris, Midfield

Class 4A

Back - Jordan Chunn, Madison County Lineman - Rod Crayton, Dadeville

Class 5A

Back - Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort

Lineman - Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley

Class 6A{}

Back - Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery{}

Lineman - Reuben Foster, Auburn