Congressional Gold Medal vote set this week

Wednesday, April 24, the U.S. House of Representatives will vote on bestowing its highest civilian honor on four{}girls who died in the bombing of the Sixteenth Street Baptist church.

Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-AL) and Congressman Spencer Bachus (R-AL) are sponsors of House Resolution- 360, which would allow the Congressional Gold Medal to go to Addie Mae Collins, Cynthia Wesley, Carole Robertson, and Denise McNair. The resolution is co-sponsored by 296 other representatives, including the entire Alabama delegation and Alabama natives, Representative John Lewis (D-GA) and Representative Sanford Bishop (D-GA).

Diane Braddock, sister of Carole Robertson, and Lisa McNair, sister of Denise McNair will be present Wednesday when the vote is taken.