FEMA disaster relief assistance

More than 2,000 FEMA applications have been approved for homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the recent tornadoes and storms.The 9 counties eligible for individual FEMA assistance are Baldwin, Blount, Dekalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa. FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers are set up in each of those counties. DRC's are open Monday - Saturday from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm. {}{}Public assistance is also available for 18 counties. {}So far 2,187 FEMA applications have been approved. FEMA has approved $9,668,386 in Individual Assistance, $8,227,934 in Housing Assistance, $1,017,000 in Small Business Administration Disaster Loans and $1,440,452 in other assistance. Those affected by recent sever weather should register with FEMA for state and federal disaster grants and loans. To apply for assistance, call 1-800-621-3362 or visit {}{}