Johnny "Football" Manziel becomes first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy

The then No. 1-ranked Crimson Tide couldn't keep Johnny Manziel contained, and the Aggies pulled the upset on the road. (

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy tonight in New York City, becoming the first freshman to ever win the prestigious award.

Manziel earned 474 first-place votes, giving him 2,029 total points. Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o finished second in the voting with 321 first-place votes, while Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein placed third with 60.

Heisman Trophy Voting Results Player1st2nd3rdTotalManziel4742521032,029Te'o3213091251,706Klein60197320894Manziel, better know as Johnny Football, has amassed a jaw-dropping 4,600 total yards of offense and 43 total touchdowns for the Aggies, leading his team to a 10-win season and a berth in the Cotton Bowl in just their first season in the insanely difficult Southeastern Conference.

Manziel set a new single-season record for total offense in the SEC, surpassing Auburn's 2010 Heisman winner, Cam Newton, who totaled 4,327 yards in his only season in college football.

He is the only quarterback to have beaten the then top-ranked, now second-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide this season, and he took the defending BCS Champs down on the road inside a raucous Bryant-Denny Stadium.

Manziel is the second youngest winner in Heisman history at the ripe age of 20 and two days. Alabama's Mark Ingram remains the youngest winner, but only by 11 days. Ingram was 19 when his won in 2009.

Johnny Football's final regular season statistics:

Passing Yards:{} 3,419 yards

Passing Touchdowns:{} 24

Rushing Yards:{} 1,181 yards

Rushing Touchdowns:{} 19

Total yards:{} 4,600

Total Touchdowns:{} 43

Passing Rating:{} 155.9

Completion Percentage:{} 68.3%

Average Yards Per Carry:{} 6.4