Local NAACP branch announces honorees

The Metro Birmingham Branch NAACP will honor a number of women during the 14th Annual Women's History Celebration. {}This event is in celebration of Women's History Month:Honorees include:
  • Daagye Hendricks, Birmingham Board of Education, District 4
  • Georgia Morgan Blair, Trustee Birmingham Public Library
  • Sherlene {}Ravizee Speed, Founder "Youth for Survival" Music Workshop
  • Amy Templeton, President & CEO MCWane Center
  • Andrea S. Gary, Office Manager Davenport & Harris Funeral Home
  • Starla M. Curry-Hilliard, Esq., Program Manager/Corporate Marketing, Alabama Power Co.
  • Judge Brendette Brown Green, Birmingham Municipal Court
  • Jacqueline C. Smoke, Esq. Attorney at Law
  • Wardine T. Alexander, Birmingham Board of Education, District 7
  • Deidra K. Perry, Sales Manager Alabama Media Group
  • Bernice Campbell, Community Activist
  • Nakita R. Blocton, Esq. Attorney at Law
  • Casi Ferguson, Project Manager AT&T
  • Mechelle Rice Fields, Family Involvement Coordinator Birmingham City Schools
  • Shelby S. Parker, Community Volunteer
  • Diana White Knighton, Vice President Finance and Administration Miles College
  • Kelly Murphree Skelton, Communications Coordinator Alabama Power Co.
  • Rosalind Rudolph Young, President Tarpley Neighborhood Association
  • Bertha A. Nettles, Executive Director Oak Ridge Community Development Corporation
  • Barbara B. Williams, President & Chair, Academy of Fine Arts, Inc.
Lifetime Achievement Awards:
  • Margaret Zimmerman Beard - Education
  • Leona Payne - Outstanding Community Service
State Rep. Juandalynn Givan will be honored as the Woman of the Year.The program is scheduled for Friday, March 28, 2014, at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens. {}The program begins at 7PM.