More Alabama counties get SBA disaster aid

The Small Business Administration has approved Walker County and the surrounding counties for disaster assistance stemming from severe storms on March 18.{} Governor Robert Bentley said the SBA disaster declaration will provide low-interest loans to help people recover and rebuild.{} Walker County is the primary county listed in the disaster declaration, but it also covers Blount, Cullman, Fayette, Jefferson, Marion, Tuscaloosa and Winston counties.{}


Earlier this month, the SBA issued a similar disaster declaration covering DeKalb, Etowah and surrounding counties in Alabama and Georgia based on damages from the same line of storms.{} In Alabama, those surrounding counties are Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair. Loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses in all the counties.