NASCAR announces Hall of Fame nominees for 2014

Dale Jarrett and Bruton Smith headline the NASCAR Hall of Fame nominee's for 2014.

The list of 25 nominees also includes engine builder Maurice Petty, five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion Larry Phillips and 1960 champion Rex White.

Jarrett won the 1999 NASCAR championship. His 32 career Cup victories include three Daytona 500s and two wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Smith is the CEO of Speedway Motorsports Inc. which owns eight tracks that host 12 Sprint Cup races.

The list of nominees will be cut from 25 to five next month. That will be the new Hall of Fame class, which will be honored next February in Charlotte, NC.