Sandy Hook teachers to be honored with Congessional Medals

TheCongressional Medal of Honor Society plans to honor the six educators killed inthe December massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut with itshighest civilian award.

Thesociety says Rachel D'Avino, Dawn Hochsprung, Anne Marie Murphy, LaurenRousseau, Mary Sherlach and Victoria Soto exemplified courage, sacrifice andselflessness in trying to protect students from the gunman.

Harold A.Fritz, the president of the society, tells the New Haven Register the women'sfamilies will be presented with the Citizen Honors Medal during a ceremony onMay 6 at Newtown High School.

Theorganization, which is made up of Medal of Honor recipients, also will presentits Certificate of Commendation to all of the other teachers and staff of theSandy Hook Elementary School.