Senate approves honor for bombing victims

Four victims of the bombing at the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church are now just a presidential signature away from receiving Congress highest civilian honor.

The Senate approved a voice vote that would posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Addie Mae Collins, Carole Robertson, Cynthia Wesley and Denise McNair.

Senator Richard Shelby introduced the Senate's version of the bill. The House approved the bill introduced by Representatives Terri Sewell and Spencer Bachus.The four girls were killed when a bomb planted by white supremacists exploded in 1963.