MENU
component-ddb-728x90-v1-01-desktop

Texting while driving ban to take effect Wednesday

Alabama's texting while driving ban takes effect Wednesday.{}

Texting, emailing, and instant messaging while driving will be illegal, and drivers will face fines of{}$25 for a first offense, $50 for a second, and $75 for a third plus court costs and two penalty points on a driver's license.{}

"We've always seen distracted driving in terms of eating, reading a roadmap, and putting on makeup," said Alabama State Trooper Curtis Summerville.

He added: "Our goal, again, is to save lives. And that's what we want to do, so we will enforce it in a professional manner. Of course, we will use discretion about enforcing it as we do with any laws."

Alabama will become the 38th state to adopt a texting while driving law.{}

Trending

LOADING