Three finalists for Alabama Teacher of Year from central Alabama

Three of the "Final Four" candidates for Alabama Teacher of the Year are from central Alabama.{}The two finalists from elementary schools include Ellen Anson from Hoover's Rocky Ridge Elementary and Ann Marie Corgill who teaches at Mountain Brook's Cherokee Bend Elementary. The two secondary teachers are Carrie Jones, from Hewitt Trussville High School and Christopher Payne from Dothan High School.The winner will be announced May 14 by State Superintendent of Education Dr. Tommy Bice. Alabama's Teacher of the Year spends the majority of the school year serving as the spokesperson for education and the teaching profession as well as presenting workshops to various groups. The state winner also represents Alabama for the National Teacher of the Year Award.