List of qualifying candidates for major and local Alabama offices

In the June 3rd primaries, candidates will square off to determine party nominees. Qualifiers' names came out Friday with a few surprises in Jefferson County.

In the District 1 commission race, Democrats' Earl Hilliard Jr., former Birmingham City Council President Roderick Royal and incumbent George Bowman plan to battle it out without any opposition from the Republicans.

In District 2, Sandra Little Brown filed to keep her seat, but she will be challenged by former commissioner Sheila Smoot, current Birmingham councilor Sheila Tyson, Steve Small, and Max Michael, all of whom are Democrats. No republicans qualified for that seat.

Jimmie Stephens is the only Republican in District 3 and he will run against Democrat V.J. Ford.

In Districts 4 and 5, incumbents Joe Knight and David Carrington will run un-opposed.

Incumbent Sheriff Mike Hale has no Republican opposition. But Charles Todd Henderson and Wallace Anger Jr. are on the Democratic ballot.

In the lone school board race, republican Dean Taylor is unopposed.

One state lawmaker will try for a second time to land a job on Capitol Hill. Gardendale Republican Scott Beason qualified today for the US house District 6 seat, which will soon be vacated by longtime Congressman Spencer Bachus.

Beason is well known as the lawmaker behind Alabama's immigration law, which was seen as one of the toughest pieces of legislation in the nation until many sections were struck down in court.

Full list of qualifying Democratic and Republican candidates running for major state offices:

U.S. Senate

R-Jeff Sessions (incumbent)

U.S. House of Representatives

District 1

R-Bradley Byrne (incumbent)

District 2

R-Martha Roby (incumbent)

D-Erick Wright

District 3

R- Mike Rogers (incumbent)

R-Thomas Casson

D-Jesse T. Smith

District 4

R-Robert Aderholt (incumbent)

R-Thomas E. Drake II

District 5

R-Mo Brooks (incumbent)

R-Jerry Hill

District 6

R-Chad Mathis

R-Paul DeMarco

R-Will Brooke

R-Gary Palmer

R-Tom Vigneulle

R-Robert Shattuck

R-Scott Beason

District 7

D-Terri Sewell (incumbent)

D-Tamara Harris Johnson


R-Robert Bentley (incumbent)

R-Stacy Lee George

R-Bob Starkey

D-Parker Griffith

D-Kevin Bass

Lt. Governor

R-Kay Ivey (incumbent)

R-Stan Cooke

D-James C. Fields, Jr.

Attorney General

R-Luther Strange

D-Joe Hubbard

Secretary of State

R-Reese McKinney

R-John Merrill

R-Jim Perdue

D-Lula Albert-Kaigler


R-Young Boozer (incumbent)

D-Joe Cottle

Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries

R-John McMillan (incumbent)

D-Doug "New Blue" Smith

Public Service Commissioner Place 1

R-Jeremy Oden (incumbent)

R-Kathy Peterson

Public Service Commissioner Place 2

R-Terry Dunn

R-Phillip Brown

R-Chris "Chip" Beeker Jr.

R-Jonathan Barbee

State Auditor

R-Adam Thompson

R-Ray Bryan

R-Hobbie L. Sealy

R-Dale Peterson

R-Jim Zeigler

D-Miranda Karrine Joseph

Alabama Supreme Court Place 1

R-Greg Shaw (incumbent)

Court of Civil Appeals Place 1

R-William C. "Bill" Thompson (incumbent)

Court of Civil Appeals Place 2

R-Scott Donaldson

Court of Criminal Appeals Place 1

R-Mary B. Windom

Place 2

R-Beth Kellum (incumbent)

R-Kimberly Harbison Drake

Alabama Board of Education - District 4

D-Yvette M. Richardson (incumbent)

Alabama Board of Education- District 2

R-Betty Peters (incumbent)

R-Barry R. Sadler

Alabama Board of Education- District 6

R-Cynthia McCarty

R-Patricia McGriff

Alabama Board of Education- District 8

R-Mary Scott Hunter (incumbent)

R-Mike Parsons

R-Ginger Cochran

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off